If This Were Easy…

2009-09-28

Scheduling

Filed under: metapost — Easy @ 5:20 pm

So, I was going to the gym 7 days a week, and that was working out okay, except that I was pretty tired much of the time.

So then, the doctor suggested I take at least one day a week off, and Katya agreed that would be not a bad idea. It concerned me a little because I do need the gym to be just something I have to do, and not something where I “decide” if I’m going or not, because let me tell you, if I have to decide every day, I’m not going. But between the tiredness and a lot of achey muscles, it seems like a good idea.

But then cut to yesterday, when I didn’t go the gym, and also didn’t sleep all night. I can’t help but wonder whether if I had gone, I would have gotten tired and fallen asleep instead of staying up until 2AM and then tossing and turning until 4AM.

A friend suggested I could go to the gym on the 7th day anyway, to keep up the habit, but just walk slowly on the treadmill instead of really working out. That would possible solve the habit issue, and the ‘being tired all the time’ issue, but possibly not the ‘not tired enough to sleep’ issue. Which may in fact be mutually unsolvable with the tired all the time issue, unless of course I just indulge my TylenolPM habit.

So, all in all, I dunno. Is it better or worse to take a day off? What about a slack day instead of a day off? Anyone else have any thoughts?

1 Comment »

  1. My two cents…..

    I think you’re dead-on right with your instinct to make the gym a place you go to every day, period….an ingrained fundamental part of your everyday (read *EVERY* day) life. That’s a real important corner to turn; I wrote about it here fwiw: http://jimleff.blogspot.com/2008/12/new-years-resolution-aid-workouts.html

    But…

    I think your doctor is dead-on right that you need a day off of exertion.

    But…
    I think your idea of going to the gym but not exert (do they have a hot tub?), is an elegant solution. Unless, that is, you find yourself compelled to exert yourself. In which case, I’d be worried you’re overdoing it. Six days of exertion is already really ambitious. So really, really power down that 7th day. Force yourself to, even if you feel spunky!

    Comment by Jim Leff — 2009-09-29 @ 2:56 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

