If This Were Easy…

2009-09-24

In which your hero pisses off her entire Aquafit class at once…

Filed under: health — Easy @ 5:34 pm

So, in an entirely unsurprising turn of events, given that Aquafit instructors at my gym are routinely late, today, our Aquafit instructor was late.

Very, very late.

She apparently can’t get their any earlier because she has commitments elsewhere earlier in the morning and traffic is just so horrendous that she can’t possible arrive in time for class. So then she wanted to know how we felt about rescheduling the class until 10AM.

I pointed out that that would not be acceptable for me, that 9:30 is already later than I’m really comfortable with, and that if she does so, I would have to stop taking the class. Based on the collective reaction to that comment, I can only assume that while I was making it, I unknowingly kicked a puppy.

In my defense, I don’t think puppies belong in swimming pools.

Then, as we were arguing, I pointed out that I am not a morning person, but that I bust my ass to get to class on time every morning so I’m not so disrespectful as to interrupt the instructor’s class and that it’s not entirely unreasonable for me to expect the same consideration from the instructor. The ‘unlike half the people in this class who show up whenever the fuck they want to’ was apparently sufficiently strongly implied that it didn’t sail over people’s heads, so that didn’t win me any friends.

So now I am the class pariah. Which is fine with me, I was the class pariah before this all started, too, because I don’t stand around and talk in Russian, on account of a) I don’t drag my ass out of bed and to the gym every morning in order to stand around and chat and b) I don’t speak Russian.

I guess, given the choice between them moving the class to 10AM and having it start on time, and leaving the class at 9:30 and not having it start on time, I’d rather they moved it. Then I can just admit that the class is not at a time that works with my schedule and find something else to do on Thursdays. It would be too bad, because I actually think the class, which is stretching focused, is valuable, and it also counts as a sort of rest day, since it’s got no real cardio or strength components, and replacing it with some other form of exercise will not fit quite so well with the rest of my schedule, but I’ll cope.

1 Comment »

  1. It sounds like you’ve spent a few years letting life and work issues take priority over health issues.It also sounds like you’re doing an awesome job of turning that around lately.

    As such, please consider letting health issues take priority over life and work issues for now, and take the darn class whenever it turns out to be held! You like it and it’s helping. Everything else in your life can jam up a little in the interest of keeping this momentum going.

    Momentum’s everything. I hope you’ll choose not to let logistics and other impediments derail it. Sounds like this might be a good moment to demonstrate that you truly put health first! 😉

    Congrats on the recent weight loss! Keep going!!

    Comment by Jim Leff — 2009-09-27 @ 12:00 am


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

