If This Were Easy…

2009-01-21

Shouldn’t this shit be together by now?

Filed under: progress — Easy @ 10:53 pm

So, I was getting my shit together pretty well. And then Christmas holidays came, and my shit got left behind in Toronto while I went to Vancouver and when I came back, it had all escaped again.

And now I’m doing an epically poor job of gathering it back up again.

Other than drinking 3 glasses of water a day, I’ve managed almost no ticky marks since I got back. My schedule is a mess in ways that really can’t be blamed on jet lag anymore, and I’m just not seeming to try to get stuff going again.

But I was at my writers’ group tonight, and I talked a bit about the 100 words, and one of them declared that he was going to hold me to that for the next meeting.

So I guess the shit must be got together.

I don’t think I’m going to be able to go from 1 ticky to 14 or whatever overnight. But I don’t want to go back to adding one thing a week, either. So, instead, I’m going to add one thing a day until I’m back up to my original list of things. Or, at least, my original list of things minus the stupid neck thing, which I have eliminated for being stupid, and moisturizing my feet twice a day, which I have eliminated for not doing a damned bit of good.

Water is the one thing I’ve been maintaining, so I’ll count it as already done. And writing got done yesterday and today, so I guess that’s retroactively day 2. I’ve already remembered to brush my teeth once today (and that, at least, never backslid so far that I went any days without brushing them at all), so if I can just do that again before bed, I’ll have a third thing added back for today.

The thing that probably needs the most attention is 15 minutes of cleaning, since my apartment is a profound disaster, so I’m going to target that for tomorrow.

I’m also targeting daily, if brief, updates here while I add this stuff back. I need to be holding myself accountable and not just letting it slide as something I’ll get to tomorrow.

1 Comment »

  1. I am finally catching up on my blogs which is allowing me to procrastinate about the absolutely terrifying amount of unanswered e-mails in my inbox. I did manage to keep the apartment reasonably clean by getting C’s sister to clean it for me and then terrorizing C about the repercussions of having to ask his sister to clean our apartment again…. None of this likely counts as ‘getting shit together’ but it’s at least removing my imaginary barriers one by one. 🙂

    Comment by beaglesmuggler — 2009-02-25 @ 8:41 am


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

