If This Were Easy…

2008-06-28

Missed. Damn.

Filed under: cleaning, diet, housekeeping, life, progress, snooze, water, writing — Easy @ 11:57 pm

I missed two goals Friday. The first was no snoozing. That one is really one I’m finding insanely difficult. I’d probably find it easier if I didn’t so often start the previous day’s ‘write 100 words’ task at Midnight, I suppose.

I also missed writing 100 words that day. Just wasn’t feeling it at all, and couldn’t bring myself to do it.

Cleaning 15 minutes a day, on the other hand, is going quite well. Not that my house is, by any stretch of the imagination, approaching clean. But my laundry is basically caught up and several kitchen counters that I haven’t seen in months are visible. After only a week, I count this as significant progress.

I also wanted to mention something in re water drinking. Which is that I have a nearly full case of coke zero that has been a nearly full case of coke zero for over a month now. Admittedly, I have spent a not insignificant portion of the past few months away from home, but I’ve basically stopped drinking soda in the house entirely. If I go out to eat, or bring takeout home, I’ll generally get a drink and have soda then, but otherwise, I never quite get around to it.

I have my water schedule set up with the idea of drinking one glass in the morning, one in the afternoon and one in the evening. And if it’s the afternoon and I’m thirsty, I stop and drink my afternoon glass of water before I reach for a can of coke, with the thought that if I’m still thirsty after, I’ll have the coke then. And that never happens.

It’s really quite astounding that I’ve managed to basically kill a 4 can a day coke habit without even trying.

2 Comments »

  1. I found that when I kicked my coffee and tea habit at the office, it helped me to start using a one-litre bottle and just fill that with water in the morning and after lunch. That way, I’ve got something to drink on my desk all the time, so I don’t have to go hunting for something, and I get most of my daily water ration really easily. Having it there and available makes it go more smoothly.

    Now if I can just convince myself those Starbucks runs are unnecessary.

    Comment by Rusvul — 2008-06-29 @ 1:16 am

  2. Ever since that nice chap mailed the office 24 oz. cups, I’ve found that pint glasses that I fill with water and bring back to my desk are utterly inadequate. I sip my way through 6-8 cups of water a day without even realizing it now.

    Comment by Pie — 2008-07-02 @ 2:51 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

