If This Were Easy…

2008-06-12

Editing

Filed under: metapost — Easy @ 10:58 pm

Rather than writing 100 words tonight, I edited about 100 words out of what I wrote last night. I figure that’s even more writerly than writing them in the first place.

The assignment is to write a short story that starts with “I found the envelope wedged in the apartment door.” and ends with “‘Damn, I would have guessed Harvey,’ Biff said.” Last night I wrote about 150 words of dialogue that got me between one and the other but since it was really only one and a half jokes, that was quite a few too many. Hence tonight’s revised version:

Karen tried to hand Biff a letter. “I found the envelope wedged in the apartment door.”

“What is it?”

“A letter. A letter from the Dettweiler Carson Pogo Stick Factory.”

“Who is it for?”

“Mr. J. H. Christ.”

“What does it say?”

“Dear Jesus Herbert Christ…”

“Damn, I would have guessed Harvey,” Biff said.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

