If This Were Easy…

2008-05-12

…I would never break the chain

Filed under: metapost — Easy @ 9:00 pm

While I found pretty much every other person on Seinfeld insufferable, I always thought Jerry was at least non-annoying. Which makes it a good thing that ‘Don’t Break the Chain’ is his motivational advice. Because if it had come from Kramer or George, I probably wouldn’t be able to use it.

Here, in a nutshell, is the advice:

… get a big wall calendar that has a whole year on one page and hang it on a prominent wall. The next step was to get a big red magic marker. He said for each day that I do my task … I get to put a big red X over that day.

After a few days you’ll have a chain. Just keep at it and the chain will grow longer every day. You’ll like seeing that chain, especially when you get a few weeks under your belt. Your only job next is to not break the chain.

Don’t break the chain.

I think I probably first read about it on MetaFilter, but the main post about it is on Lifehacker.

Not breaking the chain is a big part of my vague, hand-wavey plan. That’s where the calendar bit comes in. If you check the Google Calendar, you’ll see days where I’ve successfully complete that day’s allotted tasks marked with a big X. It’s a big X on a red background in my view of the calendar, but that might be just me.

Not breaking the chain is a big part of my vague, hand-wavey plan. That’s where the Joe’s Goals bit comes in. (I originally wrote this post last week, obviously, and have since changed tools.)

Now my only job is to not break the chain.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

