If This Were Easy…

2008-05-09

Reason #1: Because BBW Personals Are Scary

Filed under: diet, reason — Easy @ 9:00 am

I’m not particularly worried about finding a man — I seem to be doing pretty well on my own, and I don’t want kids, so I’m in no rush to get married and have babies before my biological clock ticks down to nothing. A boyfriend is, in Business Analyst speak, a ‘nice-to-have’.

I’ve tried a few different dating sites out there, but I feel obligated to be upfront about the fact that I’m fat. It’s more to save me from the minor humiliation that comes with guys who seem to like me until they find that out and then suddenly drop off the face of the Earth than to keep them from wasting their time, but I figure it has advantages on both sides. As a result of my honesty, I don’t get a lot of interest from people on those sites, but at least the people who are interested aren’t going to run away screaming when they meet me.

I recently decided to try BBW Personals, I dating site specifically for people of size, figuring that at least there, the fact that I’m fat isn’t likely to be held against me. You’d think it would be perfect, no?

As it turns out, and this shouldn’t have come as a surprise, the men on BBW dating sites really, really like fat women. Like, really like. The word ‘fetish’ applies.

I am not ashamed of being fat, but I am not proud of it, either. I know it’s unhealthy and limiting and annoying and unattractive to most people.

I would love to find a man who likes me despite the fat, but one who likes me because of the fat? Not so much.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

